Ian Grum Hits 1:38 200 Back; Magahey, Liendo win at Georgia Invite

Ian Grum Hits 1:38 200 Back; Jake Magahey, Josh Liendo win again at Georgia Invite

On the final night of the Georgia Invitational Ian Grum the Bulldogs swam the nation’s fastest time this season in the men’s 200m backstroke while his teammate Jake Magahey won his third freestyle event of the weekend. Meanwhile, the Florida men and women showed off their sprinting prowess Josh Liendo ended the first half of his freshman collegiate swim season in good fashion.

1650 women’s freestyle

Georgia sophomore Abby McCullah swam the fastest time in the country so far this season, winning the event in 15:57.08. McCulloh, who finished fifth in last year’s NCAA championship race, was just over seven seconds off her best time as she eclipsed Alabama’s 15:59.10 Kenzie McMahon swam at the Art Adamson Invitational on Friday. Georgia Techs Deniz Ertan Second in 16:04.82 and Auburn Emil Hetzer finished third in 16:10.38. These times place third and fifth respectively in the early national rankings.

1650 Men’s Freestyle

georgia Jake Magahey won his third event of the weekend with a 10 second triumph in the 1650 Free. Magahey had previously won both the 500 Free (in the country’s best time) and the 200 Free, and took the lead from Florida on the mile Alfonso Mestre about halfway before you start driving. Magahey, who finished 11th all-time in 14:24.96 and finished fourth at last year’s NCAA championships, finished the race with the second-best finish nationally to date behind Alabama Victor Johanssonwho walked the Art Adamson Invitational Friday 14:39.63.

Mestre was second in 14:54.44 with Auburn Mason Matthew He finished third in 14:54.44.

200 women’s backstroke

After winning the 400 IM a day earlier, Florida’s Mabel Zavaros moved ahead of her run in the second half to regain the 200. Zavaros was actually fifth at halftime and even Georgia with 50 yards left Marie Schoebel led by more than a second with Auburn Kensley Merritt also slightly ahead. But Zavaros had the best Final 50 to overtake the heat and win in 1:54.27.

Auburn Daisy Platts also finished well, finishing second in 1:54.51 and Schobel third in 1:54.49. Merritt dropped to fourth in 1:55.21.

200 men’s backstroke

georgia Ian Grum went to the top of the national rankings in the men’s 200cc race when he clinched a 1:38.84 wire-to-wire win. Grum finished 23rd in the NCAAs last year, but he swam behind Cal for a time that would have been good for third place in the national finals Destiny Lasco and Texas’ Carson Foster.

Auburn Aidan Stofflewho won back the 100 on Friday finished third in 1:39.64, good for the second best in the country so far this season while Georgia Tech’s Berke Saka Third in 1:40.02.

100 women’s freestyle

The Florida Gators showed some depth in the women’s 100 free ass Talia Bates roared to the front of the event and three of her teammates went with her. Bates, a B-finalist at the NCAAs last year, placed first with a 47.75 while her teammates Micayla Cronk (48.28), Ekaterina Nikonova (48.56) and Katie Mack (48.60) in second, third and fourth place.

100 men’s freestyle

Just like with the women, the Gators were tall at the men’s 100 Free. Josh Liendoa world championship medalist and summer Commonwealth Games winner for Canada, showed his worth for Florida on his first college invitation, and after winning the 50 free and 100 fly earlier in the meet, set the best time in the 100 to free at 41 ,70, with teammates Macguire McDuff Second place in 41.95 and Julian Smith Third in 42.08.

200 women’s breaststroke

georgia Zoie Hartman was another swimmer who missed out on scoring big points at last year’s NCAA championships but swam an A-final-worthy time on Saturday night. She dominated the 200 breast final by more than two seconds, and her finishing time of 2:06.97 would have been good for seventh place at last year’s NCAA championships, a meet where Hartmann actually finished 15th occupied. She was followed in this race by the Auburn duo of Stasy Makarova (2:09.35) and Bryn Curtis (2:10.16).

Men 200 Breaststroke

It was a strong meeting for relatively unheralded Florida breaststrokers. Julian Smith and Alexas Savickas Both went under 52 in the 100 breast, and in the 200 yard event, Savickas swam away from Auburn Reid Mikuta for a strong win. Savickas finished the race in 1:51.29 while Mikuta was second in 1:52.80. Floridas Kevin Varga ended up well back in third place (1:55.06).

Ladies 200 butterfly

georgia Callie Dickinson went out hard and built a lead of more than two seconds at halftime and even as she softened the track she held on to a strong win in the 200 fly. Dickinson touched in 1:55.21, nine-tenths ahead of the fast Florida swimmer Amanda Ray (1:56.10). of the state of Florida Edith Jernstedt finished third in 1:56.58.

Men’s 200 Butterfly

Floridas Joaquin Gonzalez Pinero moved away from Georgia Andrew Abruzzo to win the final single event of the meeting. Gonzalez Pinero swam a time of 1:42.30 for the win, half a second ahead of Abruzzo’s 1:42.82. Floridas Jace Crawford hit the wall third in 1:43.95.

Women’s 400 Freestyle Relay

The same four swimmers who took the top four spots in the women’s 100m freestyle dominated relay action, as expected. Florida’s team of Ekaterina Nikonova, Talia Bates, Micayla Cronk and Katie Mack retired from the Heat to win in 3:12.91. georgia Ebony McCarty put the Bulldogs more than a second ahead of Florida after the first leg, but Bates shared 47.55 and Cronk shared 47.87 to open a sizable gap.

georgia mccarty, Sloane Reinstein, Emma Norton and Zoie Hartman finished second in 3:14.64 and Auburn Lexie Mulvihill, Claudia Tamm, Payton Marvin and Polina Newmovenko finished third in 3:15.88.

Men’s 400m freestyle relay

Like the Gator women at the previous event, the Florida men were unstoppable in the 400m free relay. Josh Liendo shared a stunning 41.16 in the second leg, giving no other team a chance. Macguire McDuffliedo, Adam Chaney and Eric Friese combined for a time of 2:47.94. McDuff led in 42.55 while Chaney shared 42.04 and Friese came home in 42.19.

Auburn finished second in 2:50.02 with Aidan Stoffle, Kalle Makinen, Logan Tirheimer and Christopher Sztolman. Makinen went for the fastest split in the second leg with 42.07. georgia Zach Hils, Bradley Dunham, Jake Magahey and Dillon Downing was third in 2:50.32, with Downing coming home in 42.01.